Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Nuclear Power Plants in Ontario Close to Toronto


Nuclear power accounts for almost half of Ontario's power generation, and represents the 'baseload' of its power supply. The government plans to maintain nuclear power's role in energy generation through to 2025. Ontario currently has 16 nuclear units in operation. These reactors amount to 11,400 MW of generation capacity and are located at three sites. The stations were constructed by the provincial Crown corporation, Ontario Hydro. In April 1999 Ontario Hydro was split into 5 component Crown corporations with Ontario Power Generation (OPG) taking over all electrical generating stations.
Name Date Capacity (MW) Location Owner Type Ref
Bruce Nuclear Generating Station
6,276 44°19′31″N 81°35′58″W Bruce Power Nuclear [1]
Darlington Nuclear Generating Station
3,524 43°52′22″N 78°43′11″W Ontario Power Generation Nuclear [2]
Pickering Nuclear Generating Station
3,100 43°48′42″N 79°03′57″W Ontario Power Generation Nuclear [3]


There were no public consultation regarding the buildings of these power plants close to higly populated areas.

The deposit of nuclear waste is suprateran in case of Pickering power station.
35 people are in charge with the manipulation of these residuus.

Keeping people in the dark about the danger of these power station is the rule of the government.